The Filipino Alphabet History

Before the Spanish arrived in the Philippines in the 16th century, the people of the islands used a writing script called baybayin or alibata. It was the Spaniards who introduced Western letters to the Philippines.

In the 1930s, the renowned scholar Lope K. Santos developed the abakada which is an alphabet representing the sounds in the Tagalog language. It consists of twenty letters (five vowels and fifteen consonants).

a (a) b (ba) k (ka) d (da) e (e) g (ga) h (ha)
i (i) l (la) m (ma) n (na) ng (nga) o (o) p (pa)
r (ra) s (sa) t (ta) u (u) w (wa) y (ya)

a, b, k, d, e, g, h, i, l, m, n, ng, o, p, r, s, t, u, w, y

a, ba, ka, da, e, ga, ha, i, la, ma, na, nga, o, pa, ra, sa, ta, u, wa, ya

In 1976, the Department of Education, Culture and Sports (DECS) of the Philippines issued a revised alphabet which added the letters c, ch, f, j, ll, ñ, q, rr, v, x, and z. It was called Pinagyamang Alpabeto (Enriched Alphabet).

The Filipino alphabet of 28 letters that is currently being taught in Philippine schools was instituted in 1987 during the Aquino presidency. It is called the Makabagong Alpabetong Filipino (Modern Filipino Alphabet).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: